Expert Panel Created to Review & Update Critical Security Controls

Written by Katie. Posted in Press Release

User Rating: 5 / 5

Star activeStar activeStar activeStar activeStar active

Contact: Katie Hanson


This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Tuesday, January 14, 2014

Expert Panel Created to Review & Update Critical Security Controls

Washington, D.C.—The Council on CyberSecurity has formed an expert panel to review and update the current Critical Security Controls – a recommended set of actions for cyber defense that provides specific and actionable ways to thwart the most pervasive cyber attacks.

“The Council on CyberSecurity recognizes the complexity and dynamic nature of the cybersecurity problem and we are committed to action that allows enterprises and individuals to manage this problem by bringing together experts from across the entire ecosystem,” stated Tony Sager, Director of Programs. “The strength of the Critical Security Controls has always been the quality of the volunteers who helped create them. The Editorial Panel continues that tradition – great people willing to bring their considerable talents together for the common good.”

Panel participants include the following highly acknowledged experts in the field of cybersecurity: Adam Montville, Technical Product Manager at the Center for Internet Security (CIS); Alma Cole, Vice President of Cybersecurity at Robbins-Giola, LLC; Ashley Pyles; Babu Srinivas, Chief Information Security Officer for SP Ausnet; Brian Russell, Chief Engineer of Cybersecurity Solutions at Leidos, Inc.; Christopher Ipsen, Chief Information Security Officer for the State of Nevada; Chuck Brooks, VP/Client Executive for DHS at Xerox; Craig Shorter, Consulting Advisor at Bank of New York Mellon; Dwayne Melançon, Chief Technology Officer of Tripwire, Inc.; Earl Crane, PhD, Former Director for Federal Cybersecurity Policy on the President’s National Security Staff (2011-2013); Eric Cole, Founder of Secure Anchor Consulting and member of the Commission on Cybersecurity for the 44th President; Eric Noonan, Chief Executive Officer for CyberSheath Services International LLC; Gary Stoneburner, member of the Senior Professional Staff within the Missions Systems Group at John Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory (APL); Greg Johnson, Vice President of the Federal Reserve Bank in Richmond, Virginia; Harley Parkes, Chief of the Mission and Technical Vulnerability office (MTV) in the Information Assurance Directorate of the National Security Agency (NSA); James Tarala, Principal Consultant with Enclave Security; Jim Beechey, Director of Cybersecurity and Critical Infrastructure at Consumers Energy; John Pescatore, Director of Emerging Security Trends at SANS; Joseph Faust, Senior Cybersecurity Engineer at Phase One Consulting Group; Kent Landfield, Director of Content Strategy, Architecture and Standards in McAfee Labs; Kimberly Watson, Department of Homeland Security, Continuous Diagnostics and Mitigations (CDM) program; Randy Marchany, Chief Information Security Officer of Virginia Tech; Rich Doten, Chief Information Security Officer for Digital Management Inc.; Ron Gula, co-founder of Tenable Network Security; Steven McLeod, Cybersecurity Technical Director at the Australian Signals Directorate (ASD); Lisa Peterson, Security Analyst at Progressive Insurance; and Pam Stratton, Chief Information Security Officer for the State of Idaho.

The panel will complete their review of the Critical Security Controls in January 2014. Following the panel’s review, the revised Controls will be released to the public for comment in late January. The finalized version of the Critical Security Controls will then be formally announced in San Francisco at the RSA Conference in late February 2014.

If interested in learning more about The Council on CyberSecurity, visit the website at


About the Council on CyberSecurity: The Council on CyberSecurity is an independent, expert, not-for-profit organization with a global scope committed to the security of an open Internet. The Council is committed to the ongoing development and widespread adoption of the Critical Controls, to elevating the competencies of the cybersecurity workforce, and to the development of policies that lead to measurable improvements in our ability to operate safely, securely and reliably in cyberspace. For more information, visit the website at


Newsletter Sign-Up

Connect With CCS

Contact CCS

  • Council on CyberSecurity
  • 1700 North Moore Street
  • Suite 2100
  • Arlington, VA 22209